JRTI is very proud of our relationship with the local business community. Businesses are involved with our service to the community in a variety of ways. The most common ways we connect with the business community are through Craft Committees, our Local School Improvement Council, and Business Partnerships.

Craft Advisory Committees

Craft Advisory Committees support individual programs by working directly with the instructors to ensure the curriculum is relevant and up-to-date. Members often participate in inspections and student evaluations.

For more information about how Craft Advisory Committees work, click here.

Local School Improvement Council (LSIC)

Local School Improvement Council (LSIC) works to improve educational quality through involvement in the operation of the school. The LSIC meets at least once every nine weeks and meets at least annually with the county board of education to promote innovations and improvements in the environment for teaching and learning at the school. The council works with the school to implement policies and programs that:

  • Encourage the involvement of parent(s) in their child’s educational process.
  • Encourage businesses to provide time for their employees who are parent(s) to meet with teachers concerning their child’s education.
  • Encourage advice and suggestions from the business community.
  • Encourage school volunteer programs and mentorship programs.
  • Foster utilization of the school facilities and grounds for public community activities.

For more information about serving on the LSIC, contact Donna Van Metre at dvanmetre@k12.wv.us.

Business Partnerships

Business Partnerships provide support for our school in various ways including monetary donations, providing training support, providing internship opportunities, etc.

For more information about partnering with JRTI, contact Andrew Albright at asalbrig@k12.wv.us.

Internships/Hiring Our Students and Graduates

Our students and graduates are eager to apply their skills on the job. JRTI offers lifetime placement assistance to all of our graduates. We also partner with several businesses and organizations to provide on-site clinicals and internship opportunities to our students.

If you would like to arrange an internship program or have a position you need to fill, please contact our Workplace Learning/Placement Coordinator, Andrew Albright at asalbrig@k12.wv.us.

Forms

Job Posting

Our Industry Support

These are some of the industry partners that serve on each program’s craft advisory committee and/or hire their graduates. Click on the program name to expand the list. Contact information is included if you are interested in getting involved with a committee.

Aerospace Engineering
California Department of Water Resources
Moog Inc.
Pittsburgh Institute of Aeronautics
Sierra Nevada Corporation
US Navy

To join this committee, contact:
Paul Eisnehart
paul.eisenhart@k12.wv.us

Automated Manufacturing Technology

Berryville Graphics
Electromechanical Instructor (Retired)
FoodSource, LLC
Henkil Harris
Jefferson County Engineering
Johnson and Johnson Heating and Air
L&L Hydraulics
Mountain State Electric
New World Pasta
Quad Graphics
Rick’s Welding
Royal Vendors
The Home Depot RDC 5030

To join this committee, contact:
Eric Armer
elarmer@k12.wv.us

Automotive Technology

Ameritech
Brown’s Tire and Auto
iCar/Big K’s Body Shop
Kent Parsons Ford
Martinsburg Service Center
NAPA Auto Parts
Sharrett VW
Sheehy Automotive Group
Subaru of America
Subaru of Winchester
Volvo

To join this committee, contact:
Melissa Williams | mlwilliams@k12.wv.us
or
Brian Zeger | bzeger@k12.wv.us

Cisco

Bin Foools, LLC
Discovery
RackSpace

To join this committee, contact:
Ron Odom
rodom@k12.wv.us

Carpentry

Berkeley County Board of Education
Cedar Creek Builders
Eastern Panhandle Home Builders Association
Easton Sawyer Construction
Moreland Plumbing

To join this committee, contact:
Skip Lantz
llantz@k12.wv.us

Culinary Arts & ProStart

Bavarian Inn
Bob Evans
Cracker Barrel
Greenbrier Resort
Gypsy Soul Catering
Hillbrook Inn
Hilton Garden
M-Street Bakery
Monocacy Crossing
The Broad Axe

To join this committee, contact:
Chef Lonnie Coble
lcoble@k12.wv.us
or
Chef Stephen Brown
sjbrown@k12.wv.us

Diesel Technology

Alban
Bowman Trucking
Rudd Equipment

To join this committee, contact:
Kevin Price
kwprice@k12.wv.us

Early Childhood Education

ACDS
EPIC/HeadStart
Heather’s Kids
Hillside Child Care and Development
Orchard View Intermediate
St. Joseph’s Day Care Center
Village Square Learning

To join this committee, contact:
Amy Files
afiles@k12.wv.us

Electrical Technician

Baker Elect. Inspection
Craigs Contracting
Dorty’s Electrical Services
Ellsworth Electric
On Point Electrical Inspections

To join this committee, contact:
Cliff Arntz
carntz@k12.wv.us
or
John Godish
john.godish@k12.wv.us

Emergency Services

Bedington Volunteer Fire
EPIC
Hedgesville Fire Company
Martinsburg Fire
South Berkeley Volunteer Fire

To join this committee, contact:
Steven Harris
steven.harris@k12.wv.us

Graphic Design

Davis Designs
WiYNN Marketing
Worx GD

To join this committee, contact:
Jason Ware
jeware@k12.wv.us

HVAC/R

Blauch Brothers, Inc.
Comfort Design
Complete Building Services
Johnson & Johnson

To join this committee, contact:
Becky Nelson
ranelson@k12.wv.us

Law & Public Safety

Berkeley County Prosecutor
Martinsburg City PD
Morgan County Sheriff
WV DNR
WVSP

To join this committee, contact:
John Vanorsdale
jvanorsd@k12.wv.us

Massage Therapy

Atasia Spa LLC
Berkeley Spring’s State Park
Muscular Skeletal Therapies
Rejuvenation Station
Renaissance Spa
Serenity Day Spa

To join this committee, contact:
Todd Adams
stadams@k12.wv.us

Masonry

A E Sweeney Masonry
Cecil’s Building Supply
Frye Masonry Inc.
Jones Concrete and Masonry LLC
Pennington’s Masonry
Quality Stone Veneer

To join this committee, contact:
John Lockhart
jlockhart@k12.wv.us

Multimedia Publishing

Printing Impressions
Quad Graphics
WiYNN Marketing

To join this committee, contact:
David Morgan
m.d.morgan@k12.wv.us

Practical Nursing

Shepherd University
WVU-East
Clary Grove
Shenandoah Community Health Center
Sterling Care South Mountain
Stonerise Berkeley Springs
Veteran’s Administration Hospital – Martinsburg

To join this committee, contact:
Laura Grant
lgrant@k12.wv.us

Robotics

Amtek
Robotic Skies
WV Dept of Corrections

To join this committee, contact:
Jessie Butcher
jlbutche@k12.wv.us

Surgical Technology

Berkeley Medical Center
BMC
Hallmark Plastic Surgery
Jefferson Medical Center
Valley Health Surgical Center
Winchester Medical Center

To join this committee, contact:
Jessica Firl
jfirl@k12.wv.us

Therapeutic Services

Berkeley Medical Center
Chambersburg Cardiology Group
Unity Family Medial Center
WVU-United Hospital Center

To join this committee, contact:
Carole Spessert
carole.spessert@k12.wv.us
or
Sharlena Wilson
sharlena.wilson@k12.wv.us

Truck Driving

DM Bowman
Doc’s Service Center
DOT Transportation

To join this committee, contact:
Jim Breeden
jabreede@k12.wv.us
or
Ken Dombroski
kenneth.dombroski@k12.wv.us

Welding

Capitol Power Plant
Carter Machinery
Digging and Rigging
Quad Graphics Inc.
Reid’s Welding LLC
Roberts Oxygen Inc.

To join this committee, contact:
Kyle Albright
kyle.albright@k12.wv.us